Fri 30, Oct 2015 at 17:51:29   |  Rais akutana na waangalizi wa Uchaguzi kutoka EAC
Thu 13, Aug 2015 at 16:11:06   |  MKUTANO WA 32 WA BARAZA LA MAWAZIRI
Fri 29, May 2015 at 13:15:10   |  HOTUBA YA BAJETI MEAC 2015/2016
Mon 23, Feb 2015 at 10:29:11   |  PRESIDENT SPEECH EAC SUMMIT FEB 20, 2015
Mon 17, Nov 2014 at 16:38:03   |  EALA to Hold Plenary in Nairobi Next Week
Mon 08, Sep 2014 at 11:36:07   |  House Passes Key Resolution on PWDs

EALA to Hold Plenary in Nairobi Next Week

East African Legislative Assembly, Arusha, November 12, 2014: The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) resumes business next week by holding its Plenary in Nairobi, Kenya. The Plenary which takes place from Monday, November 17th 2014, through to Thursday, December 5th, 2014 is the Third Meeting of the Third Session of the Third Assembly.

President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to address EALA’s Special Sitting on Tuesday, November 18th, 2014.  

The Assembly is to be presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon (Dr.) Margaret Nantongo Zziwa. During the Sitting, EALA shall deliberate on the following matters:

-the EAC Co-operatives Bill, 2014 (2nd & 3rd Reading)
-the EAC Cross border Legal Practice Bill, (2nd & 3rd Reading)

-receive and consider reports from various Committees of the Assembly. The Committees include Regional Affairs and Conflict Resolution, Legal Rules and Privileges, Agriculture, Tourism and Natural Resources, General Purpose and Accounts. Also to be debated is a key report by the Committee on Communication, Trade and Investment on the On-Spot Assessment on the EAC Single Customs Territory.

The Plenary shall further consider several Motions and Questions brought before the House.

EALA Members shall also take the opportunity to participate in the EAC Infrastructure Retreat and Summit Meeting of the EAC Heads of State scheduled for November 29th-30th,2014.

The East African Legislative Assembly is the Legislative Organ of the East African Community. Its Membership consists of a total of 52, of whom 45 are elected Members (9 from each Partner State) and seven Ex-Officio Members (the Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community).

The East African Legislative Assembly has legislative functions as well as oversight of all East African Community matters.  The enactment of legislation of the Community is effected by means of Bills passed by the Assembly and assented to by the Heads of State, and every Bill that has been duly passed and assented to become an Act of the Community and takes precedent over similar legislations in the Partner States.